Home > Ideas, teaching > The Secret to Immortality

The Secret to Immortality

Take a trip down memory lane. Think about the people you remember most vividly. Especially those you haven’t met in a long time – and probably never will for the rest of your days on earth. Chances are, most if not all of them taught you something. Something you value to this day.

When I think back, I recall Mr. Kimaru who taught me swimming, Mrs. Kago who taught me music, Mr. Ogalo (r.i.p) who was my choir master and Dr. Sevilla who taught me C++. There is one thing in common among all these. None of what they taught me was in the school curriculum yet I value it all to this day.

Now the people who teach you stuff are not found only in learning institutions, you meet them all over, but there does need to be extended contact for you to learn most things. Well back to the question of immortality. These people have achieved immortality by having their very vivid impressions etched forever in my memory. I remember them like I just met them yesterday. I can hear their voices with varied accents, see their gestures and most importantly recall every bit of what they instructed.

The secret to immortality is teaching. Teach someone something you don’t have to teach and they don’t have to learn. If you don’t have to teach it and they don’t have to learn it, then the only reason you are in contact is a shared passion for the subject at hand. You’ll always remember someone who taught you something you were both passionate about.

Categories: Ideas, teaching
  1. November 12, 2010 at 19:14

    This! I actually took time to remember various people that have had an impact in my life and surprisingly enough, the ones I remember quite well are the ones who’ve taken the journey through the school of no need to school πŸ˜€ My swimming instructor, my cycling instructor (these I learnt when I was fully grown hehe).

    • kalengi
      November 12, 2010 at 23:53

      “these I learnt when I was fully grown”

      Perfect illustration that ‘immortal teaching’ does occur beyond the confines of school!

  2. November 14, 2010 at 18:19

    So true. It brings to mind a high school civics teacher who taught us to question authority. Little wonder I am what I am.

    • kalengi
      November 14, 2010 at 19:16

      @dorcas you’ve brought out a new angle: We can confidently blame or credit teachers for what we turned out to be πŸ™‚ So they do not just live on in our memories, but in our work too!

  3. November 24, 2010 at 16:12

    The late bwana Ogalo sure was an inspiration. I remember the time he taught a song from scratch to the ’95 choir during the festival and had it performed and be first in its category that same day. Makes me realize no challenge is insurmountable when you put your all to it.

    • kalengi
      November 24, 2010 at 17:40

      Hey @eric! Ogalo was definitely a major force since he’s managed to smoke you out on my blog πŸ™‚ Over the years I’ve come across a lot of the pieces he taught and it always amazes me how perfectly he’d done it. Thanks for popping in!

  4. November 25, 2010 at 08:20

    The one person who ever taught me the greatest thing in life is the one who taught me to relax. Not snooze and not sort out life at all. Relax and sort life out calmly and thoughtfully.

    • kalengi
      November 25, 2010 at 09:25

      hi @shikomsa πŸ™‚ It’s tough to remember to be calm when you’re in a worked up state – it’s so much easier to give in to knee-jerk reactions, so anyone who can teach that skill is a true gem. Thanks for passing by!

  5. February 22, 2011 at 09:48

    And we kinda stopped blogging? Ok. I’m here to teach you not to stop blogging. haha.

    • kalengi
      February 22, 2011 at 14:47

      Hehe… I was hoping I could just bury my head and get away with it πŸ™‚ Give me some tips! When it comes to writing I tend to get mental paralysis πŸ™‚

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

