Home > Android, Gadgets, Techie > Huawei IDEOS U8150 – The Little Android That’s Bigger On The Inside

Huawei IDEOS U8150 – The Little Android That’s Bigger On The Inside

“Yes, it’s bigger on the inside”, to quote the words of Doctor Who whenever he’s addressing a first time visitor to the Tardis. Anyone regarding the Ideos from the outside tends to dismiss it. Despite being a nice looking phone, it has characteristics that immediately put you on your guard when phone shopping. For starters, Huawei is not exactly a leading name in the smartphone market. Next up is the size. It’s small, very small. So you can be excused for being skeptical about its utility as a smartphone. Finally comes the price tag. USD 100 (KES 8,500). In Kenya it’s even cheaper when you factor in the bundled talk time and data package. Did I mention it’s unlocked? So in your mind there must be a catch. Someone somewhere is going to be having a good laugh at your expense if you buy this phone.

Here’s the thing. I’ve been having an Ideos for some time now and, well, I’m still the one laughing. There’s so much you can do with this little smartphone, you literally forget the size. All courtesy of the Android 2.2 operating system running inside it. And the best part is I haven’t had to invest in a larger SD card like I had originally planned. The 1GB card is sufficient for plenty of apps and data. What apps you ask? I love customizing any device I own, so I got down to shaping the Ideos to my preferences from the moment I unboxed it. Here’s some of what I’ve done with it:

Rooting

There are plenty of apps you can install on your Ideos in its off-the-shelf configuration. If you’re not too adventurous and just want to know some of the stuff you can install without having moments of increased adrenalin, then skip this section and check out the list of apps. If, on the other hand you want to get your hands dirty and truly bring your Android Ideos under your control, then rooting is a must.

Warning (yes I have to be dramatic about this): Rooting your Ideos is most likely going to void your warranty, so once you go down this road there’s no running back to the shop for assistance should anything go wrong. Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, you may brick your phone in the process so don’t attempt it if you don’t understand.

Now to the fun stuff. The Huawei Ideos, as with any other Android smartphone, operates in unprivileged mode. What this means is that there are parts of the phone that are inaccessible to regular apps. This is normally ok, but becomes a liability when you want to install apps that need access to protected areas of the Ideos. Accessing protected sections of the phone requires superuser (or root) privileges. Getting the Ideos to support operating in root mode is what is known as rooting.

Gaining root access isn’t always a straightforward task and you may have to experiment a bit, but at the very least you need to install ADB (Android Debug Bridge) and SuperOneClick on your computer. Once you have SuperOneClick installed, clicking on the Root button carries out the necessary commands to grant you root access on the Ideos. Of course you have to have the phone in debug mode and connected to the computer via USB.

Removing Unwanted Apps (requires root access)

The Ideos comes preinstalled with various apps, some of which may not be of much use to you. In my case, I removed the following:

  • Google Maps – I chose to remove it since I was installing Brut Google Maps instead.
  • Documents To Go – Didn’t have and still don’t have the need to view documents on the phone.
  • Facebook – I’m not on Facebook (yep, I said that 🙂 )
  • Youtube – Didn’t seem to work well so I removed it

Removing these apps requires more than just root access. You need to remount the system partition in read/write mode and then use ADB to run the uninstall commands.

Adding Useful Apps I (not requiring root access)

Opera Mini – popular web browser for mobile devices and always among the first apps I install on any new phone.

TweetCaster – this Twitter client is overloaded with features. It’s a lot more fun to use than the default Twitter Client for Android. One of my favorite features is the ability to send links to Instapaper to read later. It also has a really neat conversation thread view.

JustPictures! – it manages all the photos on your Ideos and also allows you to browse online photos from all the major album hosting providers (Flickr, Picasa, Facebook etc)

SoundHound – fascinating app that comes to your aid whenever you want to ‘name that tune’. It has come to my aid when naming tracks from movies and also music playing in mats (public transport minibuses).

Simple Last.fm Scrobbler – I use this to scrobble whatever I’m listening to onto Last.fm. Nice way to keep track of what music I listen to the most.

Barcode Scanner – this app can read both bar codes and QR codes. I use the QR reading feature heavily to ‘copy & paste’ links and text from the laptop to the phone. Generate the QR code on your computer with Kaywa and then pick it up via the phone’s camera. The app automatically copies whatever it decodes from the QR code onto the clipboard.

RealCalc – simply a scientific calculator. I like the way it has a classic scientific calculator look.

Time Recording – this is a highly recommended app for those who love to track their time. You simply ‘check in’ to tasks as you work on them. You can attach notes to days and also view daily, weekly or monthly reports

Catch Notes – I keep a lot of notes and this app not only helps me capture ideas as they come to me, but also synchs them to an online account so I can access them later from the laptop.

Brut Google Maps (version 4.6.0) – this is basically Google Maps with turn-by-turn navigation enabled worldwide. Very handy app, this. I used it to locate the nearest ATM recently and the directions were spot on. Thanks very much @Mwirigi for initiating the ATM mapping exercise 🙂

Google Sky Map – great app for the star-gazers! Aim the phone at whatever portion of sky you need to know more about and you’ll see the stars, constellations and planets mapped out – names included.

Ulysse Gizmos – this is a set of tools to aid travelling. There’s a compass, GPS status, altimeter, speedometer and more.

ES File Explorer – it allows you to navigate and manage the files on your Ideos. It can also browse the Local Area Network so I use it to copy files from my laptop to the phone over Wi-Fi.

Android VNC – I use this VNC client to get desktop access of Windows 2000 and Ubuntu. That way I can carry out some tasks without having to walk over to the computer.

Remote RDP Lite – great for having desktop access to Windows servers on the internet whenever I’m not at my workstation.

Battery Indicator – the default Android battery indicator doesn’t share a whole lot of info. With this app, you can tell exactly how much charge you have left, how long since the last time you charged and also the current battery voltage and temperature (no, I have no idea why I want to know the temperature).

APN OnOff – in order to conserve battery power, I normally switch off 3G reception whenever I’m using Wi-Fi. There’s also a pre-installed widget on the Ideos that I use to turn off Wi-Fi whenever I’m out of range.

Update:

APN OnOff stopped working at some point, so I went back to the Android Market for a replacement. Quick Settings turned out to be an excellent alternative with controls for turning off Wi-Fi, GPS and Bluetooth in addition to 3G. It even has a torch feature and also allows you to modify various volume settings.

Brightness Level– I found the screen brightness on the Ideos to be higher than I wanted it, so I use this app to turn brightness all the way down for indoor use. The inbuilt Android brightness widget does not offer a sufficiently wide brightness range especially on the lower side.

MultiTask Manager – Even though Android is a multitasking operating system, I did not find an easy way to switch between apps. This app allows you to select a running app to switch to without having to close the one you’re viewing.

Drop – a very simple game that grows on you. It makes use of the phone’s vibration capability to make the impact of the bouncing ball feel extremely realistic.

Bubble Shoot – another simple game, basically about shooting colored balls. Great for passing time when you don’t want to engage your brain much 🙂

Adding Useful Apps II (requiring root access)

SuperUser – this app acts as a broker for other apps that need root access. It notifies you whenever an app requests superuser rights and you have the option to grant those rights in perpetuity.

Terminal Emulator – for those of you that like talking to computers via the command line, this app grants you that pleasure by presenting a linux commanline window.

ClockSync – keep your Ideos clock accurate. Computer clocks tend to drift and it’s a good idea to keep your phone ‘tethered’ to an online clock server. This app allows you to specify how often you want it to synchronize your phone’s clock with the time server of your choice.

Quick Boot – handy app for rebooting your Ideos. It can also reboot the phone into Recovery mode should suddenly find yourself needing to.

SetCPU – if you’re not happy with the default 528MHz on the Ideos, you can use this app to raise the speed to 600MHz.

That’s about it! I also have some music on the Ideos, but obviously not as many tracks as I’d wish since I’m still operating on the 1GB SD card. I’ve also come across a good number of folks complaining about the capabilities and performance of the Ideos. Well obviously we all have our opinions, but remember this phone is 8,000 freakin bob!

Categories: Android, Gadgets, Techie Tags: , , ,
  1. desattwell
    April 26, 2011 at 20:24

    I have just taken my new U8150 out of the box today – a freakish leap from my trusty Nokia N70. Finding this info has been brilliant – not only for the application hints,but for finding Word Press as well.I came looking because I cannot work out how to alter the time – I’d set it to auto at first start-up but it is out by two and a bit hours – a strange number of minutes.Anyway,thanks Alex.

    • kalengi
      April 26, 2011 at 20:45

      Hey, @desattwell! Great to know you found the info helpful 🙂 Yep, the time thing can be a real bother, so I normally leave it to online servers to keep my Ideos clock accurate. Nokia N70 is a phone you’ll definitely miss, but I’m sure it’ll be forgotten the moment you get hooked on having access to wi-fi 🙂

      Thanks!

  2. May 5, 2011 at 11:08

    I love Android. I’m however unable to bond with my Huawei Ideos phone. Months after I bought it, its lying around somewhere in the house. Not sure where.

    • kalengi
      May 5, 2011 at 18:06

      Hey shikomsa! What happened with the Ideos? Perhaps I can help reconcile the two of you 🙂

  3. May 6, 2011 at 15:30

    I bought a u8150 mainly for development purposes; the price is definitely good, I don’t think there’s any other Android 2.2 phone that is as cheap at the moment.

    My only concern is the size; it’s actually really hard to type on the screen with the Android keyboard, because it’s such a small phone, and frankly, I find my Nokia N85 easier to type on, even just with its numeric keypad and predictive text.

    I suspect Huawei realise this, which is why they’re giving away Swipe to users, but even that’s still difficult to use.

    One other minor annoying issue – no lanyard hole. This sort of thing is very useful in areas where you might be pickpocketed.

    • kalengi
      May 6, 2011 at 21:10

      Hey Paul,

      I also had trouble in the beginning with the small on-screen keyboard. Over time, however I’ve gotten much better (without using swype) ever since realizing that the predictive text feature on Android is very intelligent. I no longer concern myself with typing accurately since the word I intend to type almost always shows up on the list. In many cases this even saves me having to type the letters towards the ending of the word.

      A lanyard hole would definitely be a useful addition to the design.

      Thanks!

  4. May 13, 2011 at 08:20

    Thanks Alex for this great write up! Dredged up memories of mucking around the hardware/software innards of devices that I need to get back to. I will definitely get an Android device, but I don’t think it will be the U8150, as the biggest negative for me is the typing. I am one that doesn’t do predictive text at all. I find typing out the entire word much faster. I don’t think my brain is wired right for predictive!

    As concerns battery temperature, my guess is it’s for alerting you to possible problems with it. If it’s higher than usual, that might mean it needs looking into. In my previous life I worked on a project on an industrial device whose battery temperature information was very critical for charging purposes.

    • kalengi
      May 13, 2011 at 13:44

      Hey Eric!

      Thanks for the insight into battery temperature info. So that means I can tell that the battery’s about to conk out and do something about it long before I get stranded.

      You’re right about the size. If predictive text is not your thing you definitely need a bigger screen – or an actual keyboard. The great thing is, all those wonderful bits about the Ideos are courtesy of the Android OS, so you won’t miss out by going bigger Android 🙂

  5. May 14, 2011 at 10:39

    I must say its my bad really. I have no problem whatsoever typing on it and was actually mesmerized by the keypad options. The size is just right. It has great features and more lucking in the app store. I’ve just never taken the time of day to learn it properly. The cow just refused.

    Oh that it called a larnyard? iLearn.

    • kalengi
      May 14, 2011 at 12:46

      “The cow just refused!” Hahahaaa… Well since you bought it in the first place, then it stands to reason that somewhere inside you lurks the desire to explore it. You could start with silly little things like using the speedometer to see how fast you actually walk…or turn it into an expensive alarm clock 🙂

      Yeah, lanyard is such a complicated name for something so…ordinary.

  6. amini
    June 22, 2011 at 18:07

    hey i read from another blog dat da battery life z short..4 da tym u’ve used da 4n how long does it for da battery to go dead…for a normal usage ofcourse

    • kalengi
      June 23, 2011 at 03:42

      Hey Amini,

      The Ideos does not do very well on battery life. This is in part due to the many tasks that are active on Android. What I did to extend battery life some more is:
      1. Disabled 3G – I only enable it if I’m out of wifi range. This showed the most dramatic increase in battery life, from barely 24hrs to 40hrs. An added advantage of turning off 3G is saving on the cost of bandwidth.
      2. Reduced screen brightness to zero using the Brightness Level app.

      The results you’ll get shall depend very much on what your usage patterns are.

  7. June 30, 2011 at 13:43

    I finally made the jump. I had enough bonga points to nab me an IDEOS, so despite my misgivings about it I went ahead and got it. I must say I actually have come to like it’s intelligent text prediction where it offers me a list to choose from as opposed to guessing and putting in the word for me! Time now to void my warranty and get into it’s innards…

    • kalengi
      June 30, 2011 at 16:38

      Finally! A geek on board 🙂 Btw I never used text prediction before the Ideos since it was so difficult to chose alternative words or even spell something new. The Android keyboard solves all that. Have fun rooting it 🙂

  8. July 9, 2011 at 09:18

    I have yet to void my warranty. A bright spot appeared on the screen, so I want to get that fixed before going ahead and rooting my device.

    I found an app that I absolutely love, Expense Manager. I like keeping track of my expenses down to the last cent, and this enables me to do so without having to try and remember what I spent my money on at the end of the day. I can input it immediately I spend money. It has various categories of expenses, and also has a nice charting facility that can give you a daily, weekly, monthly or yearly overview, complete with charts.

    • kalengi
      July 9, 2011 at 21:03

      Now that’s the cool thing about the Android Market. There are apps for just about anything you can think of 🙂 Turns that little gadget into some sort of sci-fi gizmo.

  9. nash
    July 16, 2011 at 13:49

    I rooted my ideos u8150 and was working very well with python and sl4a development until I tried installing a custom ROM and the phone bricked. Now the honeycomb logo keeps looping on the screen and the phone can only go off/on by removing/returning the battery. Does anyone know how I can restore the bricked phone

    • kalengi
      July 17, 2011 at 13:09

      Hi Nash,

      Sorry to hear that. I have no idea how to recover the Ideos from that state, but maybe the guys over here can help:
      XDA Forums
      AskMeFast

  10. aloyse
    July 27, 2011 at 17:07

    hi! nice review dude! got mine back in January …ots pretty cool.styled it up with some apps frm the market and other sites.
    got myself Go launcher thats gives it a nice appearance.
    need help unlocking mine coz i feel am still hindered ….and does unlocking help open up the wi-fi?

    • kalengi
      July 27, 2011 at 20:33

      Hey Aloyse,

      Thanks! I also use Go Launcher Ex which has a very nice interface, but could do with a faster task switching mechanism. I’m not sure what you mean by ‘unlocking’. If it’s network locked, then perhaps ROMing could do the trick. I haven’t ROMed mine since it’s not network locked and I also want to keep it on vanilla Android.

  11. July 30, 2011 at 17:27

    I’ve had my IDEOS 2 weeks, nice phone though I’m making a treasure hunt of seeking all the apps I had on my previous Nokia.

    That was until today when it went off and hasn’t woken up since. Tried charging from power and USB, nothing seems to work. Help!

    • kalengi
      July 31, 2011 at 04:42

      Hey @imaraiwe,

      Sorry about that 😦 Try the procedure described on this forum and see whether that helps. Otherwise, you may need to call in the warranty.

  12. September 5, 2011 at 12:23

    You just got me convinced. Why would i take this long to land onto this article? I should have seen it earlier because i have toyed around for too long with buying this phone.

    Huawei should look for you because this write up will sell so many of this small but mighty gadget.

    Thanks so much…..

    • kalengi
      September 5, 2011 at 18:26

      Hi @nyumbanzuri,

      Thanks very much for the glowing review! Yeah, it’s not easy to appreciate the virtues of the Ideos until you’ve had a chance to use one for some time. Good idea on the promotion thing. Perhaps you can kick off my publicity campaign by pointing the vendors to this blog when you buy the phone 🙂

      Thanks!

  13. Rooter
    September 8, 2011 at 20:05

    Hi Alex,

    Great write-up! I encountered your page while researching on whether to buy this phone or not and I ended up getting one. I’ll have to admit that I was a little disappointed at first because of its screen size and it not being a well-known brand, but I’ve been doing a lot of scouring on the internet and I’m a little tech-savvy so I rooted it and installed a custom rom (dronix 0.5) and all I can say is wow! It really is much bigger on the inside!

    In my part of the world it costs about twice as much, but it still is great value and blows away all the other phones I’ve owned before!

    Thanks again for all the info and all the best to you…

    • kalengi
      September 8, 2011 at 20:59

      Hey Rooter,

      The size and cost of the Ideos greatly belies it’s utility. Crazy stuff I would never have imagined like using it to check some angles while working wood. I decided not to ROM mine though so that upgrade to newer versions of Android can be smoother.

      Thanks very much!

  14. rayray
    September 13, 2011 at 17:06

    hi i have an ideos u8150 its working well but at times its slow or hungs, so i wanted to find out how or what i can do to increase its performance or make it work faster. coz at times if i want to go to the phone book it take slightly longer

    • kalengi
      September 14, 2011 at 00:36

      Hi Rayray,

      I’ve actually been experiencing the same increasing sluggishness for some time and I think it has to do with increased data and apps on the phone. I read up on Dronix after @Rooter’s comment and decided to give it a go. I’m done ROMing and early indications are that it feels faster than vanilla Android, but I can’t be certain until I’ve used it for some time. One immediate gain from Dronix is that the phone is now running at 729MHz up from the previous 600MHz.

  15. Norlens Wales
    October 20, 2011 at 20:26

    Hellow!! I got mine it’s realy a lovely phone but am disappointed with that mine has got a network lock & it ask me to put a network pis so as to use it with a different carrier!! What can I do so that I can use a line of my choise? Help please

    • kalengi
      October 20, 2011 at 21:55

      Hi Norlens,

      I haven’t come across any info on unlocking network locked phones. Perhaps ROMing with vanilla Android could be one way of doing it, but I’m not sure you can ROM a phone that’s not rooted. In any case, if you ROMed, you’d have to be willing to lose any data and settings currently setup.

  16. Norlens Wales
    October 20, 2011 at 23:03

    Thank’s for tha info somehow I get it but is there any way about getting those pins it request? Or Is it possible to unlock it with pins & if is possible how can I get them?

    • kalengi
      October 21, 2011 at 01:05

      I haven’t worked with a locked phone so I’m not aware what pins might work. Try asking around on the XDA Developers forum

  17. Abdu
    November 20, 2011 at 23:01

    my touchpal is not working on the right side

    • kalengi
      November 20, 2011 at 23:22

      Hey Abdu,

      I haven’t worked with Touchpal. The solution is probably on one of the Android forums.

  18. Kernel raver
    December 28, 2011 at 18:10

    I was quite skeptical about this device,especially that I have heard that the natives of where it originates have this saying “don’t fix it if it ain’t broke” well,after buying thisssss….. thissss u8150, I found that completely laughable coz am on 768Mhz & rising…… hahaha

    • kalengi
      December 28, 2011 at 18:29

      Hello Raver,

      You’re one of the lucky Ideos owners that have phones capable of 768Mhz.

      • Kernel raver
        December 29, 2011 at 17:50

        The drive is coming form the frustration that the next ideos up the ladder being a worthy contender the (X5) is literally thrice the cost at probably 1.3 times the performance. What justifies 24,999/= vs 8,499/= as of now seriously?

        • kalengi
          December 29, 2011 at 22:05

          The most compelling feature of the X5 is the autofocus camera and flash. With that I’d be able to read barcodes and also use Google Goggles.

          • Kernel raver
            January 2, 2012 at 12:43

            You sound like you dont own a U8150 now, coz I can read barcodes and google googles with it. Am using Documents to go 3.0 and can literally make a CBD job application in a little hut in shagz, with that in mind I still cant see why I should fork out 24,999/- for X5. By the way, to sustain 768Mhz @ normal battery life drain rate you direly need Mugen power 3900mAh battery which comes with its own back cover

          • kalengi
            January 2, 2012 at 13:58

            Really? You can read barcodes reliably? What technique do you use? I use QR codes all the time to transfer text from the laptop into the phone’s clipboard, but I’ve never been able to read a regular barcode off a product. I figured the problem was the lacking autofocus. The case with googles is one of reliability. For me to consider the application usable, it has to do a good job of recognizing objects at least 70% of the time. Below that, it’s frustrating. In this case too I blamed the quality of the camera.

            I’m with you totally on the X5 price. For that amount I’d go for a bigger brand phone.

  19. Kernel raver
    January 6, 2012 at 08:37

    kalengi :
    Really? You can read barcodes reliably? What technique do you use? I use QR codes all the time to transfer text from the laptop into the phone’s clipboard, but I’ve never been able to read a regular barcode off a product. I figured the problem was the lacking autofocus. The case with googles is one of reliability. For me to consider the application usable, it has to do a good job of recognizing objects at least 70% of the time. Below that, it’s frustrating. In this case too I blamed the quality of the camera.
    I’m with you totally on the X5 price. For that amount I’d go for a bigger brand phone.

    I agree the camera quality isnt that good at all. I discovered that it has a focal length of about 8 to 14cm so if you patiently hoover it slowly in that range from your target you will definately catch the barcode but patience my friend… patience, the QR code is an instant catch. I caught Nation’s barcode the day before yesterday (not QR code) thinking that I would get to read the whole newspaper only to be met with a web search request on the product (newspaper). I felt dumb. It doesnt make sense, the X5 is retailing for 14,000 rupees where u8150 is retailing for 9,000 rs which roughly means that the X5 should be around 15K if not les in Kenya. I think Safcom is pulling a Safcon on us.

    • susannamoore
      June 18, 2014 at 12:26

      I’m with you. Not all barcode scanner can scan QR code barcode. It should be specially designed for the phone or camera.
      ________________________________________________________________________

  20. dj mdosi
    February 4, 2012 at 03:19

    my biggest problem is typn or txtn..the padz too little and it takes me 3 to 5 min to txt,its a nyce phne with good features….bt any idea of any aplication that could help enlarge the key padz???

    • kalengi
      February 4, 2012 at 13:53

      Hey Mdosi,

      There’s this app called SwiftKey X that does have larger keys. You could also try using Swype, but I’ve never gotten it to work on my phone.

  21. dj mdosi
    February 4, 2012 at 14:53

    Hi my bro,tnx..let me try n download it….could you be havin the key code for full screen caller?

    • dj mdosi
      February 4, 2012 at 15:22

      ive tried downloadin it,it says ive downloaded it bt cnt see it

      • kalengi
        February 4, 2012 at 19:18

        The best way to install is to search for it using the market app on your phone. The app downloads and installs it for you.

        Haven’t come across the full screen caller.

  22. dj mdosi
    February 6, 2012 at 15:38

    the aplication says downloaded bt its not ther

    • kalengi
      February 6, 2012 at 18:23

      Could you describe how you’re going about it? That way it’s easier to get an idea of what the issue could be.

      • dj mdosi
        February 7, 2012 at 12:17

        hi,i finaly gt it..bt trial version…nkt

        • kalengi
          February 7, 2012 at 13:18

          Yeah, the keyboard is really good so I paid for it. In my case, the value was in the text prediction technology. It’s so advanced that sometimes you can type out a whole message by just selecting words. It learns your typing patterns and can therefore predict quite acurately what you’re going to type next based on what you’ve typed so far.

  23. Rooter
    February 10, 2012 at 08:29

    Hi Alex, hi dj mdosi,

    I also struggle with the keyboard on our device and I found that MessagEase keyboard is great on the u8150. It’s size can be adjusted and it uses a combination of taps and swipes for typing, and there’s it’s drawback- there’s a bit of a learning curve because of it’s unconventional layout. I learned to use it and now am reaping the benefits. You can text quite fast with one thumb! There’s also a bit of initial lag but some rom tweaks can be made to minimize it. You may want to try it if you find the qwerty keyboards unwieldy on our small screen.

    Cheers!

    • kalengi
      February 10, 2012 at 09:22

      Hey Rooter,

      Thanks very much for the tip! The wierd thing is despite all the shortcomings of the default keyboard, I always find myself going back to it. It has stability and speed going for it. By speed I mean responsiveness.

  24. February 12, 2012 at 08:59

    can i ask? how can i fix this ” Simblock Lock Unlock Reset Key” kindly please help me.. Badly Needed…

    • kalengi
      February 12, 2012 at 21:07

      Hi Jian,

      Not sure what you’re referring to. Could you describe it a bit more?

  25. Mike
    March 20, 2012 at 17:53

    Yep Alex, your information is really helpful.
    credit.
    have read through your article and have some few things to mention.
    1. You talked about frequency of the Ideos.
    and Somewhere in an xda devevelopers threads they mention that the processor speed is actually 528Mhz but Huawei overclocked it at 600mhz.
    to prove it, I downloaded Android assistant from the market and on the system info, it shows processor speeds as follows;
    Current frequency 600mhz
    maximum frq 600 Mhz
    minimum frq 245.76Mhz

    2. The same application showed some information regarding the sensors the phone has. like Temperature sensor with details of the type and some other information. Still on the same thought of its work, I downloaded Easy battery saver as it monitors battery temperature and realised that when using the phone while charging, it stops charging every time the reading is 45 degrees…

    the momory info was as such:
    total memory 183252KB
    free …….(varries)
    inactive 77500KB ..????
    how to make this active?
    thanks.

    • kalengi
      March 20, 2012 at 18:12

      Hey Mike,

      You’re correct about the frequency and with ROMing you can get it much higher. I run mine at 710Mhz. I think the inactive memory is in use by the Android system and therefore not available for apps.

  26. mike
    March 21, 2012 at 20:56

    thanks
    and some good news;
    cyanogen released a new candidate in its updates and Ideos was factored in ..
    the release candidate is available for download in the Cyanogen site.
    have a try guys.

  27. James Nakitare
    August 7, 2012 at 09:24

    hi, my ideos U8150 a night ago started vibrating without stopping even when the power is off.what should I do?

    • kalengi
      August 7, 2012 at 23:55

      Hi James,

      Sorry I’ve no idea what the issue could be. Have you tried removing the battery?

  28. Mash
    December 10, 2012 at 18:57

    Does this phone play good games lile pes,fifa,gta,asphat,nfs,hitman.

    • kalengi
      December 10, 2012 at 20:45

      Hello Mash,

      If those are the kind of games you’re looking to play on Android, then the 8150 is definitely not the phone to go with. Perhaps the higher spec ones, coz you need more RAM, storage and faster processor.

  29. May 25, 2013 at 22:43

    For a while there I have had error 495 pop up whenever I tried updating apps on my phone. I thought I’d have to do a factory reset after having tried clearing Google’s Play Store cache as was recommended in various posts as a solution to the problem unsuccessfully. I came across this thread that pointed me to clearing the proxy and port settings which solved my problem: http://bit.ly/154gwjU. Another site with a different solution to check out: http://bit.ly/10U1aKm

    • kalengi
      May 27, 2013 at 14:26

      Hey Eric,

      Thanks very much for that tip!

  30. Emily
    June 3, 2013 at 09:21

    I am not able to copy paste from yahoo mail from my ideos someone please help av tried long press doesn’t work

  31. Edwin
    August 2, 2013 at 22:59

    Having trouble accessing the internet from my ideos

  32. March 1, 2015 at 14:31

    WHEN I TURNED MY IDEOS INTO BOOTLOADER MODE IT WAS UNABLE TO START

  33. March 24, 2015 at 12:47

    You should do some search engine optimization for this website.
    I found this post on 14 place in google’s search results.
    You can reach goolge’s top10 easily and increase traffic many times.
    I know what can help you, search in google for:
    Popolton’s SEO improve

  34. July 6, 2015 at 08:35

    ideos u8150-D its a very nice phone but battery drains fast.

  35. December 7, 2017 at 05:42

    Nice information, thanks!

  36. March 16, 2018 at 16:32

    hey i really feel disappointed about my ideos 8150,i just cant download any app,the android market never responds,i feel like throwing it away but am in love with its portability,help me please on how to install apps or maybe how make this android market app to work again,perhaps how to upgarde it google play store.thanks

  37. March 16, 2018 at 16:35

    and please if it needs rooting guide me on how to do it without damaging it..via my email,you can send me guidelines on how to either upgrade the android market to google play store or other means so as start downloading apps on my ideos 8150..thanks alpt bro.

  1. October 5, 2011 at 12:08

Leave a comment